Two lives – two worlds

New Year has started both badly and well depending on who you are. Well for us because we took a relaxing cruise on a dhow with a party of friends – saw dolphins, snorkelled where there were amazing fish and even turtles (is snorkelled really a verb?) and returned to a sunset cruise. Tragic for our maid Karuna’s 31-year-old son is fighting for his life in Sri Lanka having caught tetanus from a rusty nail. He is in a coma. She flew out to be with him last night. If only this was an episode of Eat, Pray, Love then everything would work out happily. Sadly it is not. tetanus is entirely preventable with a vaccine but it was too expensive to administer in Sri Lanka.A five-year-old child could be left fatherless as a result.  Please pray if you believe and think of Karuna and family.

Published by

jennyfoister@walkmyownway.com

I am Jenny Foister and married to a lovely husband for over thirty years. I have two lovely adopted children - now adult - and a delightful granddaughter. My degree and MA is in history and I am especially interested in the history of children. For over twenty years I worked as a press and public relations manger. I have lived all over England plus Grenada, West Indies, Edinburgh, Scotland, and Muscat, Oman. I am also disabled in a wobbly-wounded sort of way.

One thought on “Two lives – two worlds”

Leave a comment